POSITIVE THINKING

Standar

Who said being positive is always easy? People do say that having negative thoughts takes a lot of energy, but still, being negative is a lot easier than being positive.

Positive is easy, smiling is positive, but do we smile all the time? We are not always in a good mood (especially teenagers).

For example, I want to learn how to play a guitar. The positive thought is “I can play some already” the negative thought is “I can’t play it”. The differences between those phrases are, positive just needs a sentence with “can” while negative adds it a bit energy by using “can’t”.

Then you start to play it and when you first succeed (which is always impossible) there’s this good feeling around you that makes you want to play it all along. What if it don’t? Negative thought drop by inside your mind and say ‘Hi!’ And you welcome it in, then you feel ‘Oh I’m useless, I quit!’.

Now how to change this situation where I used to welcome in Negative thought? Compliment myself in front of the mirror every morning doesn’t really work, I feel I’m fooling myself with the word ‘You are beautiful, you are smart, and you are ready to go to school’ then when I arrived to school I caught myself up having a bad day. Quite rough? Yes it is.

So I changed my approach to instill positive thinking. I don’t start my day complimenting myself; I start it with an action. I wake up and wash my hair using my favorite shampoo; I have my favorite food for breakfast and flash a smile to my family sitting around the table. Maybe smiling is kind of “fake”, but when I got them smiling back at me everything felt alright.

At school, I tried to cheer up like saying ‘Hey, you will meet your charming crush today’ or if I’m not in the mood I’ll say ‘Hey, today is wonderful’,  so that positive thought arrives with the word love, share, understanding and feeling good. And it always will be.

Negative didn’t really quit when I succeeded for a while. It came within my horror subject, Math! And at that time my mood got mixed up, you don’t want to lose just because of something you hate. I found out (again), that loving something needs the word understand. So, I focused and asked the smartest kid in class, I got it and all of a sudden fell in love with Math. Negative turned out Positive. And whenever Negative come again, you can throw it away, because you are already used to Positive! And Negative will never be on the list again!

Everything needs  practice, being Positive needs that a lot. I once cried because Negative really brought me deep inside the saddest tunnel, I remind myself that time “if everybody can survive the hardest time in their life, I can survive too!”.

Shindy Farrahdiba
Grade 12, SMAN 42 jakarta

Source: http://www.thejakartapost.com/youthspeak/4/2/positive-thinking.html (Access on March 16, 2011)

About fiyati

Saya adalah seorang anak perempuan yang lahir di Samarinda dan menempuh kehidupan sebagaimana biasanya, namun yang membuat saya berbeda ialah motto hidup saya yang takkan bisa dirubah oleh keadaan apapun jua. "Impossible is Nothing"

Tinggalkan Balasan

