NAZARUDDIN’S LETTER (SURAT NAZARUDDIN)

Standar
Published on The Jakarta Post (http://www.thejakartapost.com)
Put me in jail, leave my family alone: Nazaruddin tells SBY

The Jakarta Post   |  Fri, 08/19/2011 2:43 AM  |  National

Bagus B. T. Saragih

Graft suspect and former Democratic Party treasurer Muhammad Nazaruddin wrote to President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, the party’s chief patron, calling for his wife and three children to be protected.

One of Nazaruddin’s lawyers, Afrian Bondjol, said the letter was delivered to the Presidential Palace on Thursday.

“Nazaruddin dictated the letter to us when we visited him at Kelapa Dua [detention center in Depok, West Java] yesterday. We then printed it and he signed it earlier today,” Afrian told The Jakarta Post.

The letter, a copy of which was made available to the Post, reads as follows:

Jakarta, August 18, 2011

To:

The President of the Republic of Indonesia

Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono

In Jakarta

I beg you to immediately send me to jail without the need for a judicial process. I am willing to be put in prison for years as long as you promise to give material and mental peace to my family, particularly my wife and children.

I have to explain that my wife is indeed a domestic woman who knows nothing about the affairs of the party. I also promise that I will not disclose anything that could damage the image of the Democratic Party or the KPK, for the sake of the nation.

Here is my letter in which I kindly ask for the help and attention of Mr. President.

Kind regards,

Muhammad Nazaruddin

— JP

Copyright © 2011 The Jakarta Post – PT Bina Media Tenggara. All Rights Reserved.

About fiyati

Saya adalah seorang anak perempuan yang lahir di Samarinda dan menempuh kehidupan sebagaimana biasanya, namun yang membuat saya berbeda ialah motto hidup saya yang takkan bisa dirubah oleh keadaan apapun jua. "Impossible is Nothing"

Tinggalkan Balasan

